Live Chat

Select School

Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal)

The Ansal University, Gurgaon, instituted a Complaints Committee in ‘Pursuit of Defence of Women’ on April 25, 2014 in compliance with the provisions of Section 4 of the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013 and to provide protection against sexual harassment of women at work place. An internal Complaints Committee (ICC) was also constituted for the prevention and redressal of complaints of Sexual harassment and for matters connected thereto.

It is in furtherance to the earlier circulars and in suppression of the same, the existing Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) of the university is reconstituted with effect from October 1, 2017. The committee consists of the following members:-

SN Name Designation Position in the
Ph. No.
1 Prof. P. Lakshmi Dean and Professor -SOL Presiding Officer 9999896655
2 Dr. Kirti Dutta Professor - SMS Member 9871799129
3 Ms. Tanaya Verma Associate Professor-SSAA Member 9910636888
4 Ms. Savita Sharma Assistant Professor - SOHM Member 9818088951
5 Ms. Manika Walia Professor - SSD Member 9971799480
6 Ms. Shikha Gupta Asst. Professor -SET & Hostel Provost Member 9811785653
7 Ms. Jyoti Mor Asst. Professor -SET & Girls Hostel Warden Member 9560150070
8 Dr. Satish Kaushik
Dr. Archana Krishna
External Members (NGO) Member 9891387888
9 Dr. Komal Assistant Professor-SOL Member Secretary 9910046065

Five members from the committee shall form the quorum. However, presence of Presiding Officer and member of the concerned school/department is must. The members of the Committee shall meet as and when required, or at least once in a month. All the meetings are properly recorded with minutes.

The committee shall, on receipt of a written complaint, promptly initiate inquiry proceedings as per the directions under the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013: As per the act, an act of sexual harassment includes any one or more of the unwelcome acts or behaviour, whether directly or by implication:

  1. Physical contact and advances;
  2. A demand or request for sexual favours;
  3. Sexually coloured remarks;
  4. Showing pornography;
  5. Any unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature.

Roles and responsibilities

  • The role of the Committee is to create awareness about sexual harassment and to deal with and recommend punishment for non-consensual acts of sexual harassment, and not to curtail sexual expression within the campus.
  • If in case any person approaches any of the committee member, the member is immediately required to inform others.
  • A written compliant is required to be taken from the aggrieved person, necessary action to be taken, preferably to settle the matter through counselling and conciliation as soon as possible.
  • In case the matter is not so sorted, inquiry to be conducted and matter to be sorted out within 07 days from the date of compliant.
  • The members to be vigilant all the time and ensure that there is no such incident taking place in campus by creating awareness and having an open dialogue with all the students.

The committee should strictly follow the guidelines enumerated in the ‘Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013, published by Government of India, Ministry of Women and Child Development. The members of the committee should not intrude on anyone’s privacy. Members are expected to be sensitive to the issue and not let personal biases and prejudices.